UncategorizedStuart Therapeutics Adds Internationally Recognized Cornea and Ophthalmic Surgery Experts to its Scientific Advisory Board

January 26, 2018

Stuart Therapeutics (ST), a pre-clinical stage company developing advanced ophthalmic therapeutics, today announced key additions to its Scientific Advisory Board. The new additions bring some of the United States’ premier experts in anterior segment ophthalmology into the ST organization.

“We are proud that some of the foremost leaders in ophthalmology in the United States have joined the ST team,” said ST’s President and CEO, Eric Schlumpf. “As we begin to transition from our successful pre-clinical stage efforts into clinical trials, their guidance and insights will be critically important.”

Jay Pepose, MD

Dr. Jay Pepose is the Founder and active Medical Director of the Pepose Vision Institute. He also serves as Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology at Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital. He is a noted specialist in cataract, corneal and vision correction surgery.

A pioneer in laser eye surgery to correct nearsightedness, farsightedness and astigmatism, Dr. Pepose was one of an elite group of eye surgeons that conducted the nationwide clinical trial of the LASIK procedure for the correction of farsightedness and astigmatism. Dr. Pepose is involved in numerous clinical trials related to emerging implants, procedures and therapies for cataracts, glaucoma and other vision related conditions.

Dr. Pepose is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the prestigious Cogan award from the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

Dr. Pepose has contributed extensively to the scientific literature, holds two patents, and has been the recipient of competitive National Eye Institute research support. He serves on the editorial board of several prestigious ophthalmology journals and is associate editor of The American Journal of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Pepose earned his medical degree and Ph.D. from UCLA and completed his residency in ophthalmology at the Wilmer Institute, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, the premier ophthalmology program in the country. He completed his subspecialty training in cornea and external diseases at Georgetown University Medical Center.

Ed Holland, MD

Dr. Holland is the Director of Cornea Services at Cincinnati Eye Institute and Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati. He attended the Loyola-Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago and trained in Ophthalmology at the University of Minnesota. He completed a fellowship in cornea and external disease at the University of Iowa, and then completed a second fellowship in ocular immunology at the National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. He returned to serve as Director of Cornea and Refractive Surgery Service at the University of Minnesota. He was promoted to the position of Professor and was granted the Elias Potter Lyon Chair in Ophthalmology. He also served as President of the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Holland formerly served as the President for the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery from 2011-2012. He was also a member of the Executive Committee and now serves as the Program Chair. Dr. Holland was a former member of the Board of Trustees for the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He has also been the Secretariat of the Annual Meeting for the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He was awarded the Life Achievement Honor Award at the 2012 American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting. Dr. Holland has served as the Chair of the Eye Bank Association and was the former Chair of the Medical Advisory Board for the Eye Bank Association of America. He is the past President of the Cornea Society and previously served on its Board of Directors.

Dr. Holland has been awarded the Castroviejo Award from the Cornea Society in 2013. He has also received both the Senior Achievement Award and The Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He was awarded the Binkhorst Medal by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery in 2008. He was a recipient of the 2002 Paton Society Award given by the Eye Bank Association of America. He has a national and international reputation for his knowledge and expertise in the field of cornea and external disease. He is frequently invited to attend lectures both nationally and internationally. Dr. Holland is the author of over 200 articles in peer review journals and has edited Cornea, the most widely read textbook on corneal disease and surgery.

As the Director of Cornea Services at the Cincinnati Eye Institute, Dr. Holland has attracted worldwide referrals for medical and surgical corneal problems and for stem cell transplantation. His clinical interests include Corneal Transplantation, Cataract Surgery, Ocular Surface Transplantation, and Refractive Surgery.

Vance Thompson, MD

Vance Thompson, MD, earned his undergraduate degree in Chemistry at the University of South Dakota, and went on to earn his medical doctorate at the University of South Dakota School of Medicine. His internship was at the Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, ophthalmology residency at the University of Missouri – Columbia. He was a Refractive Surgery Fellow in the Hunkler Eye Clinic with Daniel Durrie, MD.

Dr. Thompson has been practicing refractive, corneal and cataract surgery in Sioux Falls, South Dakota since 1991 and is a Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Dr. Thompson has been primary investigator in over 50 FDA-monitored clinical trials studying laser (excimer, holmium, and femtosecond) and implant (pseudophakic, phakic, and corneal inlay) vision correction since 1990. He was the Medical Monitor of the first FDA approved ophthalmic use of an excimer laser in the United States. He has also been the Medical Monitor of other studies and most recently was the co-monitor of Avedro’s corneal collagen crosslinking trial, which was recently FDA approved.

Dr. Thompson has numerous publications, including being a co-editor of the textbook Refractive Surgery and lectures and teaches throughout the world on refractive surgery.

Dr. Thompson has numerous community interests which include serving on the Boards of the University of Sioux Falls, Sanford Health Foundation, the South Dakota Symphony, DakotaCare, US Bank, University of South Dakota, US Bank, and a presidential appointment to the President’s Advisory Council for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC for 8 years.

About Stuart Therapeutics:

Stuart Therapeutics, established in 2017, is developing advanced ophthalmologic therapeutics based on advanced synthetic peptide technologies. The company, based in Stuart, Florida, is dedicated to the pursuit of therapeutics that solve difficult to treat eye conditions and diseases.